In Utah, a conviction stemming from an arrest for theft will result in serious consequences. These consequences can include months or years in jail or prison, hefty criminal fines and victim restitution, a long period of probation, and mandatory community service. If you or one of your family members was arrested for theft, or if you believe you are currently the target of a police investigation, it’s critically important that you contact an experienced Utah theft defense attorney right away.
To set up a free legal consultation, call the law offices of Overson & Sheen at (801) 895-3143. We have over 16 years of experience handling thousands of criminal cases on behalf of adults and juveniles charged with theft, shoplifting, burglary, robbery, receiving stolen property, and related offenses.
What to Do if You Were Arrested for Stealing or Shoplifting in Salt Lake City
If you, your child, or another loved one has been arrested on theft charges in Utah, you should contact a Salt Lake City defense lawyer immediately. It may be possible to have the charges dropped, have the case dismissed, or obtain a reduction in the charges, but it is vital that you act quickly. Prosecutors will not waste any time building their case against you, so it’s important to begin developing a defense strategy as soon as possible.
Criminal lawyer Darwin Overson is a trial-ready attorney who has represented thousands of clients across the state of Utah. Darwin has handled all levels of misdemeanor and felony theft cases, including criminal charges related to:
- Aggravated Burglary — Utah Code § 76-6-203
- Aggravated Robbery — Utah Code § 76-6-302
- Burglary — Utah Code § 76-6-202
- Cable Theft — Utah Code § 76-6-409.3
- Fraud Crimes
- Credit Card Fraud — Utah Code § 76-6-506
- Forgery — Utah Code 76-6-501
- Identity Theft (Identity Fraud) — Utah Code 76-6-1102
- Insurance Fraud — Utah Code 76-6-521
- Issuing Bad Checks — Utah Code 76-6-505
- Receiving Stolen Property — Utah Code § 76-6-408
- Robbery — Utah Code 76-6-301
- Shoplifting (Retail Theft) — Utah Code 76-6-602
- Theft — Utah Code 76-6-404
- Theft by Deception — Utah Code 76-6-405
- Theft by Extortion — Utah Code § 76-6-406
- Theft of Services — Utah Code 76-6-409
- Wrongful Appropriation — Utah Code 76-6-404.5
Fines and Prison Sentencing for a Theft Conviction in Utah
In Utah, crimes are divided into six categories. In ascending order of severity, these categories are:
- Class C Misdemeanors
- Class B Misdemeanors
- Class A Misdemeanors
- Third Degree Felonies
- Second Degree Felonies
- First Degree Felonies
Theft charges — and the criminal penalties for a conviction — can range from Class B misdemeanors to second degree felonies, depending on factors like the type and value of the property that was alleged to have been stolen. For example, theft is a second degree felony when the allegedly stolen property was a gun of any value, a functioning car of any value, or any other item valued at $5,000 or more. The offense is a Class B misdemeanor only when the property’s value was less than $500, and the defendant has no history of stealing during the past five years, or being banned from the premises where the offense allegedly occurred.
Even at the lower end of the severity spectrum, theft charges can still result in extremely serious consequences. In Utah, penalties for a Class B misdemeanor can include a fine of up to $1,000 and up to half a year in jail. If convicted of a second degree felony, the most serious level of theft, the defendant could face a fine of $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison. Furthermore, in addition to these criminal penalties, convicted defendants also face grave civil consequences called “treble damages,” essentially meaning the defendant can be held liable for repaying three times the value of the stolen property.
There are many issues at play that can greatly change the amount of jail time a conviction will carry. For instance, important distinctions include the use of a firearm and whether the theft is alleged to have occurred in person rather than through some sort of deception or fraud. Darwin has years of experience navigating the legal intricacies of these complex, nuanced charges, and knows what sort of strategy to use to protect your best interests.
Contact an Experienced Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorney
No one wants to pay enormous fines or be incarcerated — not for 180 days, and certainly not for 15 years. Having skilled representation by an aggressive, trial-tested theft attorney gives you the best chance of defeating the charges and returning your normal life. We will uphold your Constitutional rights while fighting hard to defend your innocence and reputation.
To set up your free legal consultation with Darwin, call the law offices of Overson & Sheen right away at (801) 895-3143. Darwin is also available to make jail or holding center visits.