Riverton Sex Crimes Lawyer
Being charged with a crime is never an easy or pleasant experience; but being arrested for a sex crime is especially devastating. When someone is accused of being a sex offender, their communities immediately assume the worst is true. Suspects frequently find themselves alone and completely unsupported during their greatest time of need.
Our attorneys are here to provide that crucial support. At Overson Law, PLLC we believe that defendants in Riverton deserve to be treated with compassion and dignity, and to have the opportunity to tell their side of the story. We are unwavering in our commitment to finding out the truth, and are dedicated to planning aggressive defense strategies against even the most complex and serious of charges.
If you have been charged with rape, sexual assault, or other sex crimes in Riverton or the greater Salt Lake County area, our Salt Lake criminal defense attorneys are here to help you. To set up a free and completely private case evaluation, call Darwin Overson today at (801) 758-2287.
Our Utah Attorneys Handle Misdemeanor and Felony Charges
As you prepare to face your court date, it’s important to have a clear understanding of what you’re being charged with and why. Here is how Utah defines some of the most common sex offenses:
- Rape – Rape has a very simple legal definition: sexual intercourse without the victim’s consent. It does not matter if the alleged victim is your spouse or significant other. That is not a valid defense.
- Aggravated Sexual Assault – Involves rape with an element of violent behavior, such as threatening to kill the alleged victim, using or threatening to use a dangerous weapon, or causing serious physical injury during the attack. Utah does not have a non-aggravated sexual assault charge.
- Sexual Battery – Sexual battery means deliberately touching somebody (1) in a sexual manner, (2) without the person’s consent, and (3) while knowing it will “likely cause affront or alarm to the person touched.”
- Sexual Abuse – Sexual abuse can be divided into three charges:
- Forcible Sexual Abuse: Non-consensual sexual contact, not including rape, with someone older than 14.
- Sexual Abuse of a Minor: A minor means somebody 14 or older, but younger than 16.
- Sexual Abuse of a Child: A child is somebody younger than 14. These charges can also be aggravated.
- Lewdness – Lewdness means performing a sexual act while in the presence of somebody aged 14 years old or older. If the person is younger than 14, it becomes a different offense called lewdness involving a child.
- Voyeurism – You can be charged with voyeurism if you use any sort of camera or camcorder to secretly record a person (1) for the purpose of recording their body, (2) in a setting where there’s a reasonable expectation of privacy, and (3) without their consent or awareness.
- Sexual Exploitation of a Minor – This refers to child pornography charges, including possession, viewing, distribution, and intent to distribute.
Our legal team handles the full spectrum of charges. No matter what sort of allegations have been made against you, we’re ready to advocate on your behalf during trial. Our lawyers have worked on thousands of cases and have more than 15 years of practical experience defending adult and juvenile clients throughout Riverton.
Fines and Sentences for Sex Crimes in Utah
Most Utah sex offenses are either felonies, or have the potential to be graded as felonies. Even a misdemeanor conviction can trigger devastating penalties like months in jail, huge fines, and the creation of a permanent criminal record which can be accessed by employers, landlords, and lenders — and the consequences for felony convictions are even harsher.
Utah imposes the following maximum penalties:
- Misdemeanor, Class B
- Fine: $1,000
- Sentence: 6 months
- Misdemeanor, Class A
- Fine: $2,500
- Sentence: 1 year
- Felony, Third Degree
- Fine: $5,000
- Sentence: 5 years
- Felony, Second Degree
- Fine: $10,000
- Sentence: 15 years
- Felony, First Degree
- Fine: $10,000
- Sentence: Life
Once again, the above noted penalties represent the upper limits. Our attorneys may be able to significantly reduce your sentencing, or to have the charges against you dismissed altogether.
Sex Offender Registry Requirements
For most defendants facing these sorts of charges, the most intimidating penalty — even more than incarceration, costly fines, or a permanent criminal record — is the prospect of being placed on the Sex Offender Registry.
Utah residents must remain on the Registry for 10 years for the following crimes:
- Forcible Sexual Abuse
- Lewdness Involving a Child
For some convictions, the registration period is even longer. The following crimes all carry a mandatory lifelong registration:
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Kidnapping
- Rape or Object Rape
- Rape or Object Rape of a Child
- Enticing a Minor Over the Internet
The Registry is freely available to all members of the public, which includes your coworkers, your employer, your neighbors, your landlord, and your friends and family. Publicly posted information includes your address, license plate, where you go to school (if applicable), and what you were convicted of.
If you’ve been arrested for any of these charges, you need to contact an attorney immediately. To set up a free, confidential legal consultation, call Riverton sex crimes lawyer Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287 today.