Salt Lake City Voyeurism Defense Lawyer
Voyeurism is a crime that involves an offender viewing or recording the private areas of another person’s body without that person’s knowledge or consent. The penalties for voyeurism will depend on several different circumstances. For example, if the offender commits this offense against a minor, they could receive serious penalties. If you were arrested for committing voyeurism, you should consult with an experienced Salt Lake City voyeurism defense lawyer.
With over 16 years of criminal law experience, Darwin Overson can help you defend against a voyeurism charge. Darwin has represented clients in Salt Lake City and across Utah in various types of sexual offense cases. Darwin is here to provide you with aggressive legal representation to help you pursue the legal outcome you deserve. To schedule a free legal consultation, contact Overson Law at (801) 758-2287.
Types of Voyeurism Laws in SLC
As mentioned above, voyeurism is a crime that occurs when the offender surveys or records the intimate areas of a person’s body without their consent. There are three ways that an individual could violate Utah’s voyeurism laws, and each instance will likely carry different penalties.
The first way that a person could be charged with voyeurism is if they use any form of technology to document or record an intimate area of a person’s body without their consent. The person this offense is committed against must have a “reasonable expectation of privacy” in the area of their body that was recorded, such as the area under a skirt or any body part exposed in a dressing room or changing room. It is important to note that this offense can be committed even if the area of the person’s body is fully clothed.
You could also violate Utah’s voyeurism laaws if you sell or distribute images or recordings taken of another person’s body. This law covers various distribution forms, like print, digital, and electronic. If any image or video distributed is of a minor child under the age of 14, then the offender’s charges will likely be upgraded.
The third type of voyeurism violation does not require the use of any type of technology to view a person’s body. While this type of voyeurism does not require the offender to use technology, it otherwise has the same elements of the first form mentioned above. This means that an offender can be arrested for viewing a private area of a person’s body if the person does not know or did not give the offender their consent to view that area. This is commonly known as a “Peeping Tom” law.
To learn more about Utah’s voyeurism laws, you should speak with an experienced Utah criminal defense lawyer.
Criminal Penalties for Committing Voyeurism in Utah
Committing a prurient offense like voyeurism can result in severe criminal penalties. The type of voyeurism you committed will determine the severity of the misdemeanor or felony you are charged with.
Crimes in Utah are divided into misdemeanors and felonies. A misdemeanor is an offense that is less severe than a felony and that carries jail terms of up to one year. A felony is a serious crime that carries sentences of more than a year and up to life in prison.
If you commit voyeurism while using an instrument to record or take pictures of another person’s body, you can be convicted of a class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are the most severe type of misdemeanor and carry a maximum penalty of one year in jail and $2,500 in criminal fines. If the offense was committed against a minor that was under the age of 14; the offender can be convicted of a third degree felony. Third degree felonies are the least severe type of felony; however, they carry a maximum penalty of up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
If you sell or distribute images of the private areas of another person’s body, you can also be charged with a third degree felony. This offense can also be upgraded to a second degree felony if the crime was committed against a person under the age of 14. If you are convicted of a second degree felony, you can be sentenced to a maximum of 15 years in prison and owe $10,000 in fines.
If you committed voyeurism but did not utilize any type of technology and did not distribute any images, you will be charged with a class B misdemeanor. Class B misdemeanors carry a possible jail term of six months and $1,000 in criminal fines. Additionally, if the offender committed the offense against a child under 14, the offense will be upgraded to a class A misdemeanor.
Contact an Experienced Utah Sex Crimes Defense Attorney to Handle Your Voyeurism Case
If you were charged with violating Utah’s voyeurism laws, you should contact an experienced Utah sex crimes defense attorney. Overson Law is here to represent you in your time of need. To schedule a free consultation to discuss your case, contact us at (801) 758-2287.