A Guide to Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program
Defendants often consider driving under the influence the worst mistake of their lives. Fortunately, courts allow convicted defendants to enter certain programs like the 24/7 Sobriety Program that allow them to keep their driver’s licenses and reduce the impact of a DUI conviction.
Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program is designed for people convicted of DUI charges involving only alcohol. After being sentenced, convicted defendants must report to the Utah County Jail for two breath tests every day, one in the morning and one in the evening. If you fail or miss a test, there may be sanctions. Not all defendants can get into the program, and you must meet certain qualifications. If you complete the program, you might avoid jail time or spend less time in jail, and you will be able to keep your driver’s license or restore it early. Failing the program may mean being sent back to jail.
If you are facing DUI charges and are worried about your license status, our Salt Lake City DUI defense attorneys can help you get into the 24/7 Sobriety program. For a free case evaluation, call Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 758-2287.
What is Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program?
Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program is designed for defendants who plead guilty to their charges. The purpose of the program is to encourage participants to abstain from alcohol while in the program. Being in the program allows defendants to keep their driver’s licenses rather than face suspensions or revocations. If you are facing DUI charges and are interested in participating in the program, our Odgen DUI defense attorneys can explain the program and help you figure out if it is a good fit for you.
How long you are in the program depends on how many DUI convictions are on your record. If you are facing your first DUI conviction, the judge will determine how long you are in the program. Many participants are sentenced to about 30 days, although this might vary. That means twice a day every day for 30 days, you have to report to the county jail for breath testing.
If you are facing your second DUI conviction, you might spend one full year in the 24/7 Sobriety Program. In addition, you might be required to serve a minimum jail sentence before beginning the program, which may vary depending on your specific circumstances.
Rules and Requirements of Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program
The program comes with strict rules that must be followed at all times. If a court is unsure whether you can comply with the program’s demands, you might not get into it. Our Layton DUI defense lawyers can go over the rules and requirements of the 24/7 Sobriety Program so you know exactly what you are getting into.
The program involves undergoing breath tests twice a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. You must report every single day, even on weekends and holidays. This often means that participants cannot travel very far while in the program as they are not allowed to miss testing sessions.
Testing is administered in the mornings between 6:30 AM and 8:30 AM and the evenings between 6:00 PM and 8:00 PM. It is important to always be on time. If you are running late, you should contact the county jail and inform them. Otherwise, you might be marked as missing a testing session.
The consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs is a violation of the program rules. You will face sanctions if you fail a test or are caught consuming alcohol. Sanctions may include work diversion, which is similar to community service. Your first violation results in 1 day of work diversion. A second violation leads to 2 days of work diversion. A third violation may lead to 24 hours of immediate incarceration. Finally, a fourth violation may see you taken into custody and brought back to court, where you might be removed from the program.
How to Get Into Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program
Getting into the program is not easy for everyone. A judge might be more willing to allow defendants to enter the program if they have fewer DUIs on their records. Participants must be at least 21 years old and convicted of a DUI to participate. A judge might also conduct a risk assessment before allowing you to enter the program to determine if you are a good fit.
You must also be able to comply with certain requirements of the program. Each testing session costs participants money. Most participants undergo breath testing, but other chemical testing might be possible. Usually, testing is a few dollars per session, depending on what kind of testing you do. If you are in the program for a longer period of time, such as 1 full year, this adds up to several hundred dollars, possibly even more. Our Park City DUI defense attorneys can help you figure out a way to pay so you can stay in the program and keep your driver’s license.
Completing Utah’s 27/7 Sobriety Program
Completing the program often allows participants to avoid lengthier jail sentences for their DUI convictions. In addition, you can reinstate your license early once you complete the program. Our Riverton DUI defense attorneys can go over the program with you if you are facing DUI charges.
One of the program’s biggest benefits is that participants do not have to be in jail while serving their sentences. They must report to the county jail twice daily for testing and then go home. This system allows you to remain in the community, work, attend school, and take care of your family while finishing your sentence.
You also get your license restored sooner than you would if you did not participate in the program. A valid driver’s license is crucial for many Utah residents as it is their lifeline. Without a license, they cannot go to work and provide for themselves or their families. They might miss important things like doctor’s appointments and cannot run daily errands like grocery shopping.
Contact Our Utah DUI Defense Attorneys for Help
If you are facing DUI and want to avoid jail time and keep your license, our Provo DUI defense attorneys can help you get into Utah’s 24/7 Sobriety Program. For a free case review, call Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 758-2287.