Disciplinary Hearing Lawyer for Out of State Visitors Arrested in Utah
Hundreds of thousands of students go to college or graduate school in Utah. Many come from out of state, whether neighboring states like Nevada and Colorado or states on the opposite side of the country. No matter where a student is originally from or how long the student has lived in Utah, he or she will face Utah’s legal system if arrested and charged with a crime within the state’s borders. A criminal charge can also parallel or lead to a disciplinary hearing at the college or university the student attends, which could result in consequences like suspension or expulsion. Meanwhile, a criminal conviction could lead to jail time, heavy fines, probation, and a permanent criminal record.
The bottom line is that out-of-state students need skilled legal representation, whether they are facing a school disciplinary hearing or a criminal trial. Armed with more than 16 years of legal experience handling felony cases, misdemeanor cases, and academic proceedings, disciplinary hearing lawyer Darwin Overson is dedicated to upholding your constitutional rights and ensuring that you are treated fairly at all stages of the investigation. Darwin will fight to defend your freedom and protect your reputation, guiding you through the system while working tirelessly to reduce or avoid penalties. If you or your son or daughter is an out-of-state student in Utah facing a disciplinary hearing, contact Overson Law online, or call (801) 733-1308 for a free legal consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to assist you and your family.
What Happens if You Get Arrested in Utah While Visiting from Another State?
Utah courts have jurisdiction over crimes that allegedly occur within Utah’s boundaries. That means you will be tried in Utah’s courts – and, if convicted, face Utah’s criminal penalties – if you are arrested for a misdemeanor or felony while attending any Utah college. If you live in another state, you may need to return to Utah to face trial and/or attend student disciplinary hearings, which are conducted by universities independently of state investigations. It is vital to be represented by an attorney who is licensed to practice in Utah, not the student’s home state, since it is Utah’s legal system the student will be dealing with.
What Consequences Can Result from a Student Disciplinary Hearing?
The answer to this question depends on factors like the severity of the alleged crime or student policy violation, and the policies which are in place at that particular college or university. Each institution has its own student policies and Code of Conduct, which means sanctions and penalties can differ from school to school. Generally speaking, severe violations can lead to consequences that include suspension, expulsion, or removal from on-campus housing.
Types of Criminal Charges in Utah
Every college in Utah prohibits its students from engaging in conduct that violates the laws of the state. If a student is accused of participating in criminal activity, like robbing or sexually assaulting another student, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the result may be a disciplinary hearing – alongside a criminal investigation and trial.
There are six types of crimes that a person can be charged with in Utah: Class C misdemeanors (the lowest level of offense), Class B misdemeanors, Class A misdemeanors, third degree felonies, second degree felonies, and first degree felonies (the highest level of offense). All six can lead to incarceration, fines, and other criminal consequences, as the next section explains in greater detail.
Utah Criminal Penalties: Jail Time and Fines
Serious penalties can be imposed on international or out-of-state students who are convicted of crimes in Utah. While a university might suspend or expel a student, a judge can sentence prison time, order expensive fines, impose probation, and call for additional penalties.
Each type of offense, such as a Class B misdemeanor or a third degree felony, has a certain maximum fine and maximum jail or prison sentence, though certain statutes make exceptions where harsher penalties can be imposed. Notwithstanding these exceptions, the maximum criminal penalties for misdemeanor or felony offenses in Utah are as follows:
- Class C Misdemeanors
- Fine – $750
- Sentence – 90 days in jail
- Class B Misdemeanors
- Fine – $1,000
- Sentence – Six months in jail
- Class A Misdemeanors
- Fine – $2,500
- Sentence – 364 days in jail
- Third Degree Felonies
- Fine – $5,000
- Sentence – Five years in prison
- Second Degree Felonies
- Fine – $10,000
- Sentence – 15 years in prison
- First Degree Felonies
- Fine – $10,000
- Sentence – Life sentence
Utah Disciplinary Hearing Attorney for Out-of-State Arrests
Out-of-state disciplinary hearing attorney Darwin Overson represents first-year students (freshmen), second-year students (sophomores), third-year students (juniors), fourth-year students (seniors), and students who are enrolled in accelerated programs, two-year programs, five-year programs, or graduate programs. Overson Law, PLLC provides representation to students at public and private colleges, community colleges, LDS institutions, and other universities throughout the state of Utah.
If you or your child is facing an upcoming disciplinary hearing, it is essential to be prepared and develop a strategy to deal with the allegations tactically. Do not wait to seek help. You or your child’s future could be at stake. For a free legal consultation, call Overson Law, PLLC 24 hours at (801) 733-1308, or contact us online.