Does a Suspended License Stay on Your Record in Utah?
If your driver’s license has been suspended, you know that it’s not only frustrating, but it can manifest as other consequences in your life. Luckily, there is help available to you. Darwin Overson, a Salt Lake City license suspension lawyer, is available help you make sense of Utah’s license suspension policies and to navigate the system so that you can get your license reinstated as quickly as possible. Read further for more information about how long a license suspension will remain on your driving record, how to check your record, and how to get your license reinstated.
How to Check Your Utah Driving Record
A Utah license suspension will stay your record for as long as the penalty of your suspension dictates. Please note that a driver’s license suspension means that you’re prohibited from driving for a certain length of time. This is different from a license revocation, which means that the license is cancelled, and an investigation will need to occur before another license can be obtained.
It’s advisable to check your driving record, whether your license has been suspended or not. Your Utah state driving record will provide information about your driving history. In addition to the status of your current and past suspensions, your driving record will provide the date that you got your driver’s license, any past car crashes, traffic violations, violation points, and any DUIs you may have been involved with.
There are a few ways to check your driving record. The easiest way to obtain your driving record is to do it online by visiting the motor vehicle record page of Utah’s government website. You can also obtain your driving record in person by visiting a Utah driver’s license office. Alternatively, you can get a driving record by mailing a request form (along with the driving record fee) to the Utah Department of Public Safety in Salt Lake City. The fee for a copy of your driving record is $8.00.
Be aware that you’re not the only one who has access to your driving records. Potential employers can access your driving record and use it to make a judgment for or against hiring you. Insurance companies also have access to your driving record; a bad record can result in raised insurance prices.
Driver’s License Suspension Periods in Utah
There are a lot of reasons why a driver’s license may be suspended in the state of Utah. These reasons include driving under the influence (DUI), driving without car insurance, failing to appear in court and pay a traffic ticket, failing to pay child support, driving with a previously suspended license, or accumulating too many demerit points.
Lengths of suspension periods vary depending on the driver’s age and the severity of the violations. If a driver over the age of 21 is found to be guilty of driving under the influence, then their license will be suspended for 90 days for a first offense and one year for a second offense. They could also be required to serve jail time, perform community service, or participate in an assessment and educational program through an alcohol or drug dependency facility. If a driver has been found to be guilty of driving under the influence and they are between the ages of 19 and 21, then their license will be suspended for six months; if they are under the age of 19, then their license will be suspended for two years.
Driver’s licenses frequently get suspended because drivers have accumulated too many demerit points, which are gained by committing certain offenses including reckless driving, speeding, running through a red light or stop sign, and other traffic violations. A driver will be suspended for three years for gaining 200 points on their license. Points can be deducted, however, if a person drives safely for a certain period of time or takes a defensive driving course.
If a driver is caught driving with a suspended license, their license will be suspended for a longer period of time and they may face up to six months in jail and a $750 fine.
Reinstating Your Suspended Utah Driver’s License
Getting a suspended license reinstated in the state of Utah may require the completion of a defensive driving course, proof of car insurance, and/or retaking a driving exam through the DMV. License reinstatement will also cost the driver a fee of $35 for a non-DUI related offense and $65 for a DUI-related offense. They may also be required to pay administrative fees.
Drivers with a suspended license may be eligible for a hardship driver’s license. Also called a restricted license, this license allows drivers to drive to their workplace or school. In order to get a hardship license, drivers will have to submit a letter from a judge to the DMV, as well as a written verification from their doctor.
Call for a Free Consultation with Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Lawyer Darwin Overson
If you or someone you know has a suspended Utah driver’s license, you can likely use the help of an experienced defense attorney to get it reinstated as easily as possible. Salt Lake City criminal defense lawyer Darwin Overson is available to assist you with Utah’s driver’s license policies. Call us at (801) 823-6615 for a free consultation.