DUI Defense Lawyer for Students at LDS Business College
LDS Business College is a private, two-year business school located in Salt Lake City and operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. With its ideal location in SLC, and its unique emphasis on both finance and religion, LDS Business College attracts many applicants each year. However, even the most promising student can see their hopes and dreams derailed by a DUI charge in Utah. Driving under the influence is a serious crime punishable by jail time, fines, license suspension, and potentially, suspension or expulsion from the College.
If your son or daughter was arrested for drunk driving at LDS Business College in Salt Lake City, your family urgently needs a compassionate and experienced defense lawyer who is ready to fight hard for your child’s future. To set up a free legal consultation with a Salt Lake DUI attorney for students at LDS Business College, call Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287, or contact Overson Law, PLLC online.
What is the Utah DUI Limit?
The DUI limit in Utah is 0.05, the lowest in the United States. In comparison, most states have a DUI limit of 0.08.
Strict as the limit is, a person can be charged with DUI at even lower thresholds. For example, under Utah’s “Not a Drop” law, it is illegal for anyone below the age of 21 to drive with any alcohol in his or her bloodstream, however small the quantity. That means a BAC of 0.02 or even 0.01 could lead to DUI charges for a driver who is under 21, which describes many college students.
The law also prohibits, under Utah Code § 41-6a-502(1)(b), driving while “under the influence of alcohol, any drug, or the combined influence of alcohol and any drug” to a point where the person is “incapable of safely operating a vehicle.” Instead of taking a BAC reading, police officers look for other signs of intoxication in drug DUI cases, such as confusion, red eyes, or erratic behavior.
Is Drunk Driving a Felony in Utah?
Crimes are classified as either felonies or misdemeanors in Utah. Driving under the influence is typically a misdemeanor, though the charge can be elevated to a felony if the driver has a history of certain prior offenses.
This classification is established by Utah Code § 41-6a-503 (pertaining to DUI penalties), which in most circumstances makes DUI a Class A misdemeanor or Class B misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are more serious than Class B misdemeanors. For instance, DUI is a Class A misdemeanor if the offense causes an injury or involves passengers under certain ages.
Misdemeanors, though not punished as severely as felony offenses, can still result in jail time, expensive fines, probation, license suspension, and a criminal record. Regardless of whether you have been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony in Utah, it is in your best interest to contact a Salt Lake City DUI lawyer for help right away.
Penalty for Driving Under the Influence in Utah
The penalties for drunk driving in Utah can be severe, even if it is the person’s first DUI offense. A first-time DUI can be punished by a mandatory community service or a jail sentence of 48 hours, license suspension for 120 days, and assorted fines that, when combined, can end up costing the defendant more than $1,300. In addition, the court may place the defendant on probation, or order him or her to undergo an evaluation for counseling or treatment.
Does a DUI Charge Affect College or Financial Aid?
Not only will a DUI arrest expose the person to a risk of criminal penalties like fines and jail time; for a college student or an applicant who hopes to enroll, there can also be devastating academic consequences. Depending on the nature and severity of a violation of student policy, a student at LDS Business College may be suspended, or even expelled.
For prospective students who are still in the process of applying to college or applying for loans, a DUI arrest can also be problematic. A criminal record can render an applicant ineligible for certain types of loans and financial assistance, while simultaneously making it much harder for a student to be accepted into internship, volunteer, or study abroad programs. A DUI record can also cause lasting problems for college students once they graduate and enter a competitive job pool. Many employers conduct background checks and may turn down job applicants with DUI arrests or convictions on their records.
Salt Lake City DUI Defense Attorney for LDS Business College Students
If your son or daughter has been charged with intoxicated driving at college, he or she risks criminal consequences, along with the loss of precious academic and professional opportunities. Act swiftly and strategically to protect your child’s rights and fight for their freedoms. Contact Overson Law, PLLC online to set up a free legal consultation, or call our law offices 24 hours at (801) 758-2287 for help.