DUI Defense Lawyer for Students at Neumont College
DUI, or driving under the influence, is a serious criminal charge in Utah. There can be jail time, fines, and other harsh penalties for defendants convicted of DUI – and for college students, the consequences of a charge or arrest can go even further. In addition to facing serious legal outcomes, a student at Neumont College risks being suspended or even expelled, losing eligibility for student loans, and ultimately, missing out on life-changing academic and career opportunities.
Get aggressive about your child’s defense. Protect your son or daughter’s future by hiring an experienced DUI lawyer for college students in Salt Lake City, like Darwin Overson, founder of Overson Law, PLLC. To set up a free legal consultation, contact Overson Law, PLLC online, or call right away at (801) 758-2287. We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to help answer your questions about DUI charges at Neumont College.
Utah DUI Laws
There are several ways a person can violate DUI laws in Utah, which broadly prohibit operating any motor vehicle while impaired by drugs and/or alcohol of any kind. It is against the law to:
- Operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol or controlled substances, including legal prescription drugs
- Operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) measuring 0.05 or higher (for drivers age 21 or older)
- Operate a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in the bloodstream, no matter how small (for drivers under the age of 21)
In most states, the BAC limit for DUI charges is 0.08. However, as noted above, the threshold in Utah is significantly lower: just 0.05, giving Utah the country’s strictest DUI laws. For drivers who are under the age of 21, the threshold is zero. Under Utah’s aptly-named “Not a Drop” law, it is illegal for drivers below 21 to operate a vehicle after consuming any quantity of alcohol, however minute.
What is the Penalty for DUI in Utah?
Courts can impose harsh penalties on defendants who are convicted of driving while intoxicated in Utah. Even for a first-time DUI offense with no prior record, the consequences can be severe. For a first-offense DUI in Utah, which is classified as a misdemeanor, the potential criminal penalties include 48 hours of jail time, community service, 120 days of license suspension, assorted fines exceeding $1,300, and possible probation. These penalties can be increased dramatically depending on certain factors, including but not limited to the following:
- It was the defendant’s second DUI
- It was the defendant’s third DUI, in which case the offense will be treated as a felony
- The defendant had a high BAC
- The defendant resisted arrest or attempted to flee
- The defendant was under the influence of illegal controlled substances, such as marijuana, cocaine, or methamphetamine
- The DUI caused an accident which damaged public property or somebody’s private property
- The DUI resulted in injuries or death
Fines, license suspension, and other penalties may also result from various offenses related to DUI, such as refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test or driving with open containers of alcohol (open container violations).
Neumont College Student Alcohol Policy
Criminal penalties, like jail time and probation, are the most pressing concerns when a college student is charged with driving under the influence. However, fines and jail time are not the only potential consequences of a criminal conviction. In addition, the student also risks serious damage to his or her academic career. Depending on the offense, the student could even be expelled.
Neumont College strictly prohibits violations of state laws, such as Utah’s DUI law, in addition to “being under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs while on campus,” according to the student policy handbook. The handbook also states, “The College reserves the right to suspend or dismiss any student at any time for misconduct or when such action is deemed to be in the best interest of the student or the College.”
Salt Lake City DUI Defense Attorney for Students at Neumont College of Computer Science
At Overson Law, we are committed to providing a vigorous, tactical defense that is focused on minimizing or avoiding penalties and upholding your child’s constitutional rights. Darwin Overson can fight to limit or avoid the imposition of penalties like jail time and fines, while guiding your family through the justice system, representing your family before school disciplinary boards, and preparing you for hearings and interviews.
If you are a college student or the parent of a college student who needs help dealing with DUI charges in Salt Lake City, turn to Overson Law for support. Contact us online right away to schedule a free consultation, or call our law offices 24 hours at (801) 758-2287.