DUI Defense Lawyer for Students at Weber University
If you or your son or daughter was arrested for DUI while attending Weber University in Ogden, make sure your family retains an aggressive, trial-tested defense attorney who can work to protect your child’s future. Weber University DUI lawyer Darwin Overson, founder of Overson Law, PLLC, has over 16 years of experience representing minors and adults in all types of DUI cases involving college students, including DUI under 21, DUI with high BAC, DUI with marijuana, DUI with prescription drugs, DUI resulting in injury or death, open container violations, and breathalyzer refusals.
If you or a family member was arrested for drunk driving at Weber University, Overson Law is available 24 hours to provide guidance, fight penalties, and uphold your constitutional rights. It may even be possible to have the charges dismissed, depending on the case. Contact us online right away to schedule a free legal consultation, or call Overson Law at (801) 758-2287 to speak with an attorney today.
Is Driving Under the Influence a Felony in Utah?
In Utah, criminal offenses receive one of six designations:
- Class C Misdemeanor
- Class B Misdemeanor
- Class A Misdemeanor
- Third Degree Felony
- Second Degree Felony
- First Degree Felony
A Class C misdemeanor is the least serious type of offense on this list, while, at the opposite end of the spectrum, a first degree felony is the most severe. That being said, even a Class C misdemeanor is punishable by jail time and fines – and as the offense level increases, so do the criminal penalties involved.
DUI is typically categorized as a Class B misdemeanor if it is the driver’s first or second drunk driving offense. However, if the DUI causes someone to sustain minor injuries, or if there are passengers of certain ages in the vehicle, it may be a Class A misdemeanor. If it is the defendant’s third DUI offense within a 10-year period, or if serious injuries result (to somebody other than the driver), intoxicated driving is a third degree felony.
If the defendant is age 17 or younger, his or her case may be adjudicated in juvenile court, which is a civil rather than criminal court. If the defendant is 18 or older, he or she is a legal adult and will be tried as such.
What Are the Penalties for DUI in Utah?
The consequences of a drunk driving conviction can be far-reaching and severe, with impacts on nearly every aspect of the defendant’s life. To begin with, there is the loss of freedom involved with penalties like jail time, electronic surveillance, and supervised probation. There are also financial consequences, with defendants required to pay costly court fees, surcharges, criminal fines and, in some cases, victim restitution.
In addition to any penalties that are imposed by the state, the student will likely have to face disciplinary hearings at Weber University. He or she could risk being suspended or expelled, depending on the nature and severity of the offense. A DUI conviction can also cause a college student to lose eligibility for various loans and scholarships, internships, volunteer programs, and employment opportunities. A criminal record could also hurt the student’s ability to participate in study abroad programs. In addition to all of these consequences, the student will lose his or her license and driving privileges – potentially for years.
While DUI penalties vary from case to case, a few examples of potential consequences are listed below.
Penalty for Misdemeanor DUI
Penalties for a first-offense misdemeanor DUI in Utah may include the following:
- Two days in jail
- Supervised probation
- Fines totaling approximately $1,370
- Installation of an ignition interlock device in the driver’s vehicle
- License suspension of at least 120 days
Penalty for Felony DUI
Penalties for a felony DUI in Utah may include the following:
- Up to five years in prison (or approximately 63 days in jail, depending on the case)
- Fines of nearly $3,000
- Supervised probation
- Ignition interlock penalties
- License revocation for two years
Note that DUI penalties increase:
- If there are repeat offenses
- In cases involving a high BAC
What Happens if You Drink and Drive Under 21?
In most states, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of or above 0.08. In Utah, that threshold is just 0.05, giving Utah the strictest DUI laws in the country.
There is an even stricter rule for minors (people under age 18) and adult drivers who are below the legal drinking age of 21. Under Utah’s “Not a Drop” law, any detectable blood alcohol content can form the basis for a DUI charge – even with a BAC as low as 0.01 – if the driver is younger than 21.
If a college student violates Utah’s DUI laws, he or she can be suspended or expelled, in addition to facing criminal prosecution or juvenile court. A student who is charged with DUI at Weber University may face penalties that include jail time, fines and surcharges, probation, and license suspension, in addition to any consequences resulting from student disciplinary hearings.
DUI Defense Attorney for College Students at Weber University
Being a minor does not protect a defendant from facing severe and damaging legal consequences following a DUI arrest at college. If you or your child was charged with drunk driving at Weber University, consult a proven and experienced Salt Lake City DUI attorney for help right away. Contact our law offices online to set up a free legal consultation, or call Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 758-2287.