How to Contact an Inmate at Duchesne County Jail
If your spouse, girlfriend, boyfriend, or family member is in custody at the Duchesne County Jail in Utah, this guide will explain how to contact him or her. It covers:
- Jail policies for sending mail to inmates.
- Where to address your mail.
- How to deposit money into an inmate’s account, so that he or she can make phone calls (or buy items from the commissary).
- How to contact the jail and county court facilities.
With over 16 years of legal experience, criminal attorney Darwin Overson is passionately committed to protecting Utahans’ Constitutional rights while building aggressive, innovative defense strategies against felony and misdemeanor allegations. Darwin represents defendants charged with a wide range of criminal offenses, including but not limited to drug possession, drug distribution, gun crimes, DUI, simple and aggravated assault, murder and manslaughter, rape, sex crimes, and theft.
If your loved one has already been taken into custody, there’s no time to lose. To set up an attorney jail visit, or get a free and confidential legal consultation, contact Darwin right away at (801) 758-2287. It’s never too early in the morning or too late in the evening to call.
Rules for Sending Mail to the Duchesne County Jail
Inmates at the Duchesne County Jail are permitted to send and receive mail as long as it complies with the facility’s rules and safety regulations. The Duchesne County Jail mailing address is:
Duchesne County Jail
(Inmate’s First and Last Name Here)
21554 West 9000 South
P.O. Box 10
Duchesne, UT 84021
All envelopes must be clearly marked with your real first name, last name, and return address. Print in block letters to avoid any confusion.
Mail and/or mailing envelopes may not be decorated with lipstick, glitter, perfume, stickers, confetti, pipe cleaners, or any other crafts or substances. You should also leave out any materials that could be considered contraband, which includes any number of everyday household items. For example, it’s common for jails to prohibit objects like pencils, cologne, and news clippings. Jails also prohibit any materials that depict nudity, pornography, illegal activities, or gang signs/insignia.
If you have any doubts about whether an item you wish to send is allowed, you should call the jail in advance at (435) 738-1100. Even if the item is prohibited, it may be possible for your loved one to buy something similar through the commissary using funds you deposit into his or her account, which is covered in the next section. Of course, you should never attempt to send or sneak in any illegal objects, such as guns or drugs, which could lead to criminal prosecution (and cause your loved one to lose certain privileges).
Please be aware that all mail will be opened and pre-screened for safety purposes, so you shouldn’t write anything you wouldn’t want a stranger to potentially read. Your mail should reach its intended recipient within 24 hours of being received and approved by jail personnel.
How to Add Money to an Inmate’s Account for Prepaid Phone Calls
Inmates at the Duchesne County Jail are not permitted to possess cash. However, they can still buy commissary goods or place prepaid phone calls, provided there are adequate funds in their financial account.
To add money to an inmate account, you’ll need to set up an account with Advance Pay, the third party service the jail uses to handle its phone system. It’s free to create an account, but you will be charged a small fee each time you make a deposit. The cost of the fee depends on the way you make the deposit:
- Internet/Phone (Automated System) – $6.25
- Phone (Live Representative) – $8.75
The fee remains the same regardless of how much money you deposit. Options range from:
- Minimum Deposit – $25
- Maximum Deposit – $110
You can check the account balance 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling the automated system/customer support line at (800) 483-8314. If the customer support line isn’t able to resolve your issue, try calling the customer service line at (877) 650-4249. Its hours of operation are:
- Weekdays – 7:00 A.M. to 11:00 P.M. (CST)
- Weekends – 8:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M. (CST)
Calling (866) 230-7761 will also bring to a customer service line.
If you have any questions about an inmate, start by calling the Utah State Department of Corrections VINE service at (877) 884-8463. If you don’t get the information you need from the Department of Corrections, call the Duchesne County Jail directly at (435) 738-1100 or (435) 738-0190.
For court-related information, use the appropriate phone number below:
- Duchesne County District Court – (435) 738-2753
- Duchesne County District Court, Roosevelt – (435) 722-0235
- Duchesne County Justice Court, West Precinct – (435) 738-0109
District courts handle felonies and high-level (Class A) misdemeanors, whereas justice courts handle only Class B and Class C misdemeanors (as well as minor matters like traffic infractions and ordinance violations).
If one of your relatives was charged with a felony or misdemeanor in Duchesne County, he or she needs aggressive legal representation as soon as possible. To set up an attorney jail visit or free legal consultation, call criminal defense lawyer Darwin Overson right away at (801) 758-2287. Your information will be kept confidential. Darwin handles arrests, illegal searches and seizures, and criminal charges arising throughout the county.