Logan Criminal Defense Lawyer
The consequences of being criminally convicted are serious. Even if this is your first offense and you have an otherwise clean criminal record, you could still be facing thousands of dollars in fines, years in prison, the loss of your driver’s license, supervised probation, and other assorted penalties depending on the nature of the charges against you.
Our Logan Defense Lawyers Can Help You
Because of the negative impacts that a criminal conviction can have, it’s essential to work with a knowledgeable defense attorney who knows how to protect your rights while fighting strategically for a favorable outcome on your behalf. Darwin Overson is dedicated to providing aggressive courtroom representation to residents of Logan, and has more than 16 years of experience handling an array of felonies and misdemeanors, including:
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Possession and Distribution
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
- Gun Crimes
- Sex Crimes
If you or one of your loved ones was arrested in Logan, you can depend on Darwin Overson to provide your family with personalized, around-the-clock legal support. To get a free, completely confidential assessment of your case, call Darwin at (801) 758-2287. Darwin is available to make emergency visits to jails and holding centers.
What is the Court Process After You’re Arrested in Logan?
Being charged with a crime is an overwhelming experience, especially if you’re not familiar with Utah’s criminal justice system and the court process that follows after an arrest. Depending on factors like the defendant’s age and the nature and severity of the charges against him or her, this process takes the following steps:
- If you were charged with a felony, the first step is called the first appearance. You will receive formal notice of the charges against you.
- After the first appearance comes the preliminary hearing, which is when the prosecutor will try to prove not that you are guilty, but that there is probable cause to believe you could have committed the crime. If there isn’t enough evidence, the case will be dismissed.
- If you were charged with a misdemeanor, your first step is the arraignment, which is when you will plead “guilty” or “not guilty.” There are also several other pleas, which are less common.
- Pre-trial motions, or requests to the judge, will be filed by both your defense attorney and the prosecutor.
- The court will schedule a pre-trial conference, which is a final attempt to settle the matter before taking the case to trial. The prosecutor and your defense lawyer can enter negotiations at this stage.
- During plea bargaining, the prosecutor can make concessions in return for the defendant pleading guilty. Plea bargaining isn’t always appropriate for every case.
- Trial is the final stage of the process. After a series of statements, witnesses, and rebuttals, the jury will receive instructions and must return a unanimous verdict. If no such verdict can be reached, the judge can order a new trial. Trial concludes with a verdict and, within 45 days at most, sentencing.
UT Criminal Penalties: Fines and Sentences
Criminal offenses in Utah are separated into two categories: misdemeanors, which are lesser offenses, and felonies, which are more serious. While misdemeanors may carry smaller fines and shorter sentences than felonies, penalties can nonetheless climb to thousands of dollars and/or months of incarceration. Both felonies and misdemeanors will also result in the creation of a criminal record, which can create serious obstacles in important parts of your everyday life, including your employment, your ability to earn professional licenses, and your eligibility for certain loans.
Possible fines and sentences for misdemeanors and felonies in Utah include:
- Class A Misdemeanors
- Sentence — Up to 1 year in jail
- Fine — Up to $2,500
- Class B Misdemeanors
- Sentence — Up to 6 months in jail
- Fine — Up to $1,000
- Class C Misdemeanors
- Sentence — Up to 90 days in jail
- Fine — Up to $750
- First Degree Felonies
- Sentence — Up to life in prison
- Fine — Up to $10,000
- Second Degree Felonies
- Sentence — Up to 15 years in prison
- Fine — Up to $10,000
- Third Degree Felonies
- Sentence — Up to 5 years in prison
- Fine — Up to $5,000
In addition to these heavy fines and sentences, other penalties that could be imposed depending on the offense, the defendant’s history, and other factors include:
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- Mandatory community service
- Registration as a sex offender
- Restitution to be paid to the victim
When you’ve been charged with committing a crime, experienced legal representation can make the difference between keeping your freedom and losing all of your most precious rights. Don’t face the prosecution alone. To set up a free, confidential legal consultation with criminal lawyer Darwin Overson, call (801) 758-2287.