Ogden Criminal Defense Lawyer
It’s easy to feel lost and alone when you’ve been charged with committing a crime. Utah’s criminal justice system can be daunting, but know that you do not have to face this challenging time without dedicated legal support on your side. Our experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys will be there to counsel and guide you with trusted advice and aggressive advocacy at every step of the way.
To set up a free and completely confidential case evaluation, call our law offices right away at (801) 758-2287. We have over 16 years of experience handling felonies and misdemeanors in Ogden and the surrounding area.
Experienced Defense Attorneys in Ogden, UT
We handle a wide variety of criminal charges, ranging from low-level misdemeanors to aggravated murder. Our attorneys are prepared to represent juveniles and adults charged with the following offenses, and more:
- Acid/LSD Possession/Distribution
- Assault and Battery
- Child Abuse
- Cocaine Possession/Distribution
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Crimes
- Drunk Driving/Intoxicated Driving/DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
- Ecstasy Possession/Distribution
- Heroin Possession/Distribution
- Marijuana Possession/Distribution
- Meth Possession/Distribution
- Negligent Homicide
- Possession of a Deadly Weapon
- Possession of Child Pornography
- Prescription Fraud
- Retail Theft/Shoplifting
- Sex Offenses
- Sexual Assault
- Statutory Rape
- Violent Crimes
- Weapons Crimes
- White Collar Crimes
Criminal Penalties: Maximum Fines and Sentencing
Like most states, Utah splits criminal offenses into two classes: misdemeanors, which are less serious, and felonies, which are more serious. While misdemeanors carry lighter penalties than felonies, both have the potential to result in expensive fines and long periods of incarceration, as the penalties listed below make amply clear.
Misdemeanors and felonies are both separated into three distinct groups. Where misdemeanors are concerned, these groups are called “classes.” Felonies are differentiated by “degrees.” As the crime rises by class or degree, the associated penalties become more severe.
- Felony of the First Degree
Maximum Fine – $10,000
Maximum Sentence – Life in prison
- Felony of the Second Degree
Maximum Fine – $10,000
Maximum Sentence – 15 years in prison
- Felony of the Third Degree
Maximum Fine – $5,000
Maximum Sentence – 5 years in prison
- Class A Misdemeanor
Maximum Fine – $2,500
Maximum Sentence – 1 year in jail
- Class B Misdemeanor
Maximum Fine – $1,000
Maximum Sentence – 6 months in jail
- Class C Misdemeanor
Maximum Fine – $750
Maximum Sentence – 90 days in jail
Bear in mind that fines and incarceration are not the only consequences that may result for a criminal conviction in Utah. Depending on the nature of the offense, the offender’s criminal history, and other factors, the judge may decide to impose alternative or additional penalties and conditions, including but not limited to the following:
- Probation, which means the offender stays out of jail or prison in exchange for complying with certain rules and conditions. Probation should not be confused with parole, which refers to early release from jail or prison.
- Mandatory community service.
- Mandatory registration as a sex offender.
- Mandatory road safety courses.
- Mandatory treatment for drug and/or alcohol addiction/abuse.
- Revocation or temporary suspension of a driver’s license.
My Son or Daughter Was Arrested, What Happens Next?
As a parent, almost nothing could be more devastating than learning your daughter or son was arrested and brought into custody. We completely understand how stressful and heart-wrenching it is to see your child be accused of committing a crime. Learning the basics about Utah’s juvenile justice system can help to set your mind at ease while you and your family begin to explore your legal options with assistance from our dedicated attorneys.
A juvenile is any person who is under the age of 18. Juvenile courts are civil, whereas adult courts are criminal. If a juvenile is found guilty, he or she is not convicted, but instead, adjudicated delinquent. The Utah Board of Juvenile Justice, or UBJJ, defines an adjudication simply as “a judgment that a juvenile is responsible for the delinquency or status offense that is charged.” If your son or daughter is adjudicated delinquent, they might be ordered to perform community service and/or pay a fine. They might be placed in a residential home, be placed in a secure facility, or face other consequences.
There are some exceptions to the general rule that juveniles are not tried as adults. Under Utah Code § 78-3a-602, which is sometimes referred to as the Serious Youth Offender Law (SYOL), a juvenile can potentially be tried as an adult for any of the following:
- Aggravated Arson
- Aggravated Burglary
- Aggravated Assault
- Aggravated Kidnapping
- Aggravated Robbery
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Attempted Aggravated Murder
- Attempted Murder
- Discharge of a Firearm from a Vehicle
If your teenage son or daughter was arrested in Ogden, or if criminal charges have been filed against you, don’t wait to get the skilled legal help you deserve. Call our criminal attorneys at (801) 758-2287 today to set up a free and private consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and are prepared to make emergency visits to jails and holding centers, including the Weber County Jail.