Riverton DUI Defense Lawyer
Utah takes aggressive measures against intoxicated driving, and the penalties for a conviction can be harsh. If you are found guilty, you face a long list of consequences including jail time, costly fines, the loss of your driver’s license, mandatory community service, court-ordered counseling for substance abuse, and having to install a breathalyzer device in your own car. DUI charges will not disappear on their own, so if you have been arrested for drugged or drunk driving in Riverton City, you need to take immediate action before it’s already too late.
Many people mistakenly think that because DUI is a somewhat common offense, it isn’t necessary to approach the charges with the help of a lawyer. But without an attorney to guide you through the justice system, analyze the evidence against you, and protect your legal rights, you increase your risk of making incriminating statements and ultimately, of being convicted. Darwin Overson will counsel you throughout the court process, and will advocate aggressively to have your charges reduced or even dropped altogether.
Time is of the essence when it comes to defending criminal charges, and you can’t afford delays. To set up your free and confidential legal consultation, call Riverton City DUI attorney Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287 today.
Utah DUI Defense Lawyers
Unfortunately, the fact of the matter is that intoxicated driving charges have the potential to negatively impact your life — even long after your conviction and sentencing are over. With a drunk or drugged driving incident logged on your criminal record, your arrest and conviction will be visible to any employer or landlord who decides to conduct a background check. Needless to say, these are major problems which can cause dramatic disruptions to your everyday life.
With so much at stake, you need a dedicated and experienced DUI attorney on your side. Darwin Overson has more than 15 years of experience defending the residents of Riverton City and Utah, and works with both adult and juvenile clients. Even if your alleged incident involves factors like underage drinking, high BAC, or injuries to pedestrians or other motorists, Darwin Overson can help fight the allegations and strive for the best outcome possible.
Fines and Penalties for a Utah DUI Conviction
For most people, the biggest concern following a DUI arrest is what potential penalties they could be facing. Unfortunately, a conviction can carry very serious repercussions.
DUI is often categorized as a Class B Misdemeanor. However, under Section 41-6a-503 of the Utah State Legislature, it can become a Class A Misdemeanor if the defendant:
- Physically injures somebody.
- Was driving with a passenger under 16 years old.
- Was at least 21 years old, and had a passenger under 18 years old.
Under the same statute, DUI can even be a third degree felony if the defendant:
- Has two or more previous convictions from within the past 10 years.
- Seriously physically injures somebody. (Utah law defines serious injury as an injury which results in either “serious permanent disfigurement,” long-term loss or impairment of function, or “substantial risk of death.”)
For a first offense, the minimum fine is $700, but is often closer to $1,400. In addition to the financial penalties, you could also be jailed for two days, be ordered to complete 48 hours of community service as well as substance abuse counseling, and your driver’s license could be suspended for about four months (120 days). This suspension period used to be 90 days, but was increased with the passage of Senate Bill 272 in 2009. It should also be noted that if you are under age 21, your license may either be suspended for 120 days or until your 21st birthday — whichever period is longer.
If you wish to fight a suspension, you must request a hearing with the Utah Driver License Division (DLD) within 10 days. If you do not, your license will be automatically suspended. For those who lack ready access to alternate transportation — particularly for those who rely on a vehicle to commute to work — this lengthy suspension period can be even more devastating than the fines and jail time.
For a second offense, the jail sentence increases to 10 days, while the minimum fine increases to $800. However, the fine for a second offense can be as high as $1,850. In particular, the license suspension for increases very dramatically, rising from 120 days to a period of two years.
Our Riverton DUI Defense Attorneys Can Help You
If you have been charged with intoxicated driving or aggravated DUI in Riverton, it’s critically important to contact an attorney right away. For a private, no-cost consultation, call Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287 any time – 24 hours a day, seven days a week.