Utah’s drivers get much leeway with some of the highest speed limits in the United States, at 80 Miles Per Hour (MPH) in some roads. However, Utah imposes hefty fines for speeding violations. Questions regarding speeding costs because monetary penalties add up and are not entirely uniform in Utah—there are state fines, local fines, points, and surcharges added up for every traffic infraction. Surcharges depend on many factors. Drivers’ license points can be tricky because these can result in license suspension. As a record of traffic offenses accumulates, you may need to take proactive measures to protect your drivers’ license record. Since every traffic offense leads to additional points in your record, this can lead to additional insurance costs as well; when your driving record shows multiple traffic offenses the insurance company receives the information, and as these points add up, you’ll be considered a higher risk in the eyes of the insurance company.
If you or someone you know is facing speed tickets costs and would like to fight it or apply for compensatory service instead of fines, attorney Darwin Overson can help you. He has an established practice dedicated to fighting traffic violations because he understands that this can have many layers of consequences in your life. Call (801) 758-2287 to schedule a consultation.
Overview of Utah Speeding Laws and Fines
In 2016, Utah modified traffic offenses from the classification as misdemeanors to the classification of the infraction. With this modification, anyone who gets a speeding violation will no longer face the possibility of jail time. The introduction of the fine-only penalty is noteworthy because costs can add up quickly as surcharges and additional fines for aggravating factors are taken into consideration for repeat traffic offenders.
An experienced traffic offense defender can help you understand aggravating factors and their meaning in your life. Aggravating circumstances are other negative notations in your record that can have an impact on the fine amount. For example, when speeding results in injury. When this happens, a court appearance is typically mandatory. The injury is considered an aggravating factor.
Utah’s speeding ticket costs can be confusing is that the precise fine levied can vary county to county. Utah has a Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule that provides an estimate of the fines, which are generally lower than the bail amount. The penalty will include a surcharge that depends on your record and the place as well as in other individual circumstances related to your case. An experienced attorney can guide you as to these measures. Also, courts in Utah can modify the penalty if there are aggravating or mitigating circumstances warranting a deviation from the schedule.
Speeding Ticket Costs in Utah
According to Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-209(2)(a) of the Utah Criminal Code, anyone who drives over the speed limit will be subject to a speeding ticket. According to Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-601, speeding leads to the following fines according to the number miles above the MPH limit:
- 1-10 – $120
- 11-15 – $150
- 16-20 – $ 200
- 21-25 – $ 270
- 26-30 – $370
- 31+ – $470 (additional $10 for every mph over 31)
Speed levels alone are not the only element taken into account; the place where you’re speeding is also important. For example, speeding in a construction zone can lead to charges as follows:
- 1-10 MPH – $170
- 11-15 MPH – $220
- 16-20 MPH – $320
- 21-25 MPH – $470
- 26-30 MPH – $670
- 31+ MPH l- $870 with an additional fee of $20 for every MPH over 31
Fines for speeding in a school zone are listed in Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-60. The following fines are imposed for a first offense:
- 0-9 – $140
- 10-19 – $ 240
- 20+- $440
The following fines are imposed for a second offense:
- 0-9 – $140
- 10-19 – $370
- 20+ – $780
Utah’s Drivers License Point System
As soon as you’re found guilty of speeding, the drivers’ license points will appear on your record. With this information, the insurance company may increase your car insurance premiums. Points can be added as follows to your driver’s license:
- Speeding over the limit by:
- 1 to 10 MPH: 35 points.
- 11 to 20 MPH: 55 points.
- 21 MPH or more: 75 points.
- Reckless driving: 80 points.
If you get over 200 points on your record in a period of three years, your driving privileges may be suspended. These points can be costly because fines can be more severe if you have multiple traffic offenses. It can lead to severe problems if you’re caught driving with a suspended license because the license will be suspended, and you can even face prison time at that point. There is no exception for driving in other states because Utah shares traffic infraction information with other states. An experienced attorney can guide you on this issue.
Insurance Costs for a Speeding Ticket in Utah
All speeding tickets and associated points can lead to higher insurance costs. Points and fines create the perception you pose risks to other drivers on the road. As these points increase, so does the perception that you are a risk on the roads for insurance purposes. The calculation of your rate takes into consideration these points, and it’s likely you will have a higher insurance bill at the point in which you receive a speeding ticket.
If you worry about the expenses of these fines, Utah enacted a law in 2018 entitled “Compensatory Service Instead of Fine.” This law allows everyone who is facing fines as a result of an infraction to work for a qualified public entity instead of paying out-of-pocket for the fine. You can work at a designated agency for a rate of $10 per hour. With the help of a qualified attorney, you can file this petition.
Utah Speeding Ticket Lawyer Offering Free Consultations
If you were fined for speeding in Utah, let an experienced lawyer help fight the citation. Attorney Darwin Overson knows that your driving record is essential in your life, especially in Utah where driving is such a necessary part of your life. Call (801) 758-2287 to schedule a free and private consultation.