Salt Lake City Violent Crimes Lawyer
Being convicted of a violent crime in Utah has extremely serious consequences. You can be incarcerated, heavily fined, and placed on probation. You will also receive a criminal record, which can make it very hard to keep or find a job. Many employers are extremely hesitant to hire someone with a history of violence, which can lead to years of financial hardship.
Even before you are charged, there is a district attorney preparing the state’s case against you. To protect yourself, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer by your side. Don’t go it alone. If you are being investigated by the police, or have been arrested and charged with a violent crime in Salt Lake City or other parts of Utah, call the law offices of Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 895-3143 for a free and confidential legal consultation.
- Get Legal Representation from an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney in Utah
- Misdemeanor and Felony Penalties in Utah: Fines and Prison Sentences
- What to Do if You Were Arrested for Violent Crimes in Salt Lake City
Get Legal Representation from an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney in Utah
Violent crimes attorney Darwin Overson has represented thousands of defendants accused of misdemeanor and felony offenses throughout the state of Utah. Criminal charges Darwin handles include, but are not limited to:
- Aggravated Assault — Utah Code § 76-5-103
- Aggravated Kidnapping — Utah Code § 76-5-302
- Aggravated Murder — Utah Code § 76-5-202
- Aggravated Robbery — Utah Code § 76-6-302
- Aggravated Sexual Assault — Utah Code § 76-5-405
- Crimes Against Children
- Abusing a Disabled Child — Utah Code § 76-5-110
- Child Abuse — Utah Code § 76-5-109
- Child Endangerment — Utah Code § 76-5-112.5
- Child Kidnapping — Utah Code § 76-5-301.1
- Domestic Violence Crimes
- Domestic Violence in a Child’s Presence — Utah Code § 76-5-109.1
- Harassment — Utah Code § 76-5-106
- Stalking — Utah Code § 76-5-106.5
- Homicide Crimes
- Homicide by Assault — Utah Code § 76-5-209
- Child Abuse Homicide — Utah Code § 76-5-208
- Manslaughter — Utah Code 76-5-205
- Murder — Utah Code 76-5-203
- Negligent Homicide — Utah Code 76-5-206
- Vehicular Homicide — Utah Code 76-5-207
- Mayhem — Utah Code § 76-5-105
- Rape — Utah Code § 76-5-402
- Robbery – Utah Code 76-6-301
- Simple Assault — Utah Code 76-5-102
- Threatening Violence — Utah Code 76-5-107
Misdemeanor and Felony Penalties in Utah: Fines and Prison Sentences
Violent crimes are frequently charged as felonies. Felonies are even more serious than misdemeanors, which can have grave consequences in their own right.
Both misdemeanors and felonies are separated into three categories each: Class C, B, and A misdemeanors, and third, second, and first degree felonies. The lower the number, or the closer the letter to the beginning of the alphabet, the more severe the consequences can be. These consequences are described below.
- First Degree Felonies
- Prison — Possible life sentence
- Fine — $10,000 maximum
- Second Degree Felonies
- Prison — 15 years maximum
- Fine — $10,000 maximum
- Third Degree Felonies
- Prison — 5 years maximum
- Fine — $5,000 maximum
- Class A Misdemeanors
- Jail — 1 year maximum
- Fine — $2,500 maximum
- Class B Misdemeanors
- Jail — 6 months maximum
- Fine — $1,000 maximum
- Class C Misdemeanors
- Jail — 90 days maximum
- Fine — $750 maximum
Though severe, fines and incarceration are not the only consequences defendants risk facing. Certain offenses, such as those involving acts of domestic violence like the assault of a spouse or cohabitant, will also result in denial of hunting privileges, and can even lead to the deportation of immigrants. If you are found guilty, you could lose your gun rights, your ability to vote, and other cherished rights.
Enhanced Sentencing for Crimes Involving Weapons, Prior Offenses, or Children
Utah follows additional, enhanced sentencing guidelines for crimes that allegedly involve certain factors. For example, if you have been charged with committing a violent crime while using a weapon, being a habitual offender (having a history of prior offenses), or committing a crime in the presence of a child, extra time could be added to your sentence. It is crucial that you contact an experienced and trial-ready criminal lawyer immediately.
What to Do if You Were Arrested for Violent Crimes in Salt Lake City
A conviction of a violent crime can have terrible repercussions that affect every aspect of your life, from employment to finances to housing to personal relationships. With much at stake, you will be up against a trained and aggressive district attorney whose goal is to prove your guilt. It is in your best interests to be represented by a defense attorney who can level the playing field by protecting your Constitutional rights, challenging the prosecution’s evidence against you, and fighting to have your case dismissed or the charges reduced to a lesser offense.
Don’t wait to start exploring the legal options that may be available to you or your loved one. The longer you wait to seek legal help, the more difficult it will be to dispute the accusations against you. With over 16 years of experience, Darwin is ready to step in on your behalf to challenge testimony and prepare your case for defense at trial.
If you or a family member has been arrested for domestic violence, assault, rape, or other crimes of violence in Salt Lake County, call the law offices of Overson Law, PLLC as soon as possible at (801) 895-3143. In case of emergency, Darwin is available to make jail and holding center visits. While our law offices are based in Salt Lake City, we handle criminal charges throughout the state of Utah.