Can I Concealed Carry a Gun Without a Permit in Utah?
Purchasing a firearm is often mired in procedural complexities, and carrying that firearm is a whole other can of worms. Many Utah residents interested in having a firearm want to know what kind of permits they need to concealed carry a firearm.
Utah has done away with the requirement for concealed carry permits. Lawful gun owners are free to concealed carry without the need for a permit. Keep in mind that this only applies to Utah, and carrying your firearm out of state may be met with resistance if you do not have a permit to concealed carry. If you meet the eligibility requirements to purchase a firearm, you can concealed carry without a permit. However, there may be penalties for those who concealed carry without satisfying the necessary criteria.
If you are having trouble legally obtaining a firearm or have been charged with a firearm-related offense, our Salt Lake City weapons crimes lawyers can assist you. Call Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 758-2287 for a free case review.
Concealed Carrying a Gun Without a Permit in Utah
Utah eliminated its concealed carry permit requirements. Now, according to Utah Code § 76-10-523(5), any person who is at least 21 years old and can lawfully possess a firearm can concealed carry. No additional permits are necessary.
While the requirement for a concealed carry permit is practically eliminated, the system for obtaining a permit still exists, and you can apply for a concealed carry permit if you wish. Typically, a person eligible to lawfully possess a firearm will be granted a concealed carry permit within 60 days after applying for one.
If you are eligible to legally purchase and possess a firearm in Utah, you are also free to concealed carry that firearm. However, you may be charged with a crime for carrying a concealed firearm if you do not meet the eligibility requirements for obtaining a firearm in the first place.
Our Ogden weapons crimes attorneys can help you if you find yourself in legal trouble involving a concealed firearm. The laws around firearms are immensely complicated, and your offense might stem from misinformation or misunderstanding.
Eligibility to Concealed Carry Without a Permit in Utah
Eligibility requirements to concealed carry can be found under Utah Code § 53-5-704(2)-(3). Essentially, the law states that anyone who meets these requirements may concealed carry without a special permit. To be considered eligible, an applicant must meet the following criteria:
- No felony convictions
- No convictions for a violent crime
- No alcohol-related convictions
- No convictions for controlled substances
- No convictions involving moral turpitude
- No domestic violence convictions
- Is mentally competent
- Is not a person restricted from having a firearm
Having a clean criminal background is a key component of being allowed concealed carry. If you are unsure whether your criminal background precludes you from concealed carrying, call our Layton criminal defense attorneys for help.
Additionally, a person who is permitted to concealed carry may have their privileges revoked under the following conditions:
- Past patterns of behavior involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence,
- Past participation in incidents of unlawful violence, or
- A conviction of a weapons-related crime.
Can I Conceal Carry a Gun If I Leave Utah?
While the laws in Utah allow people to concealed carry if they meet the requirements to lawfully purchase and possess and firearm, this is not necessarily the case in other states. While other states do not have any authority over how Utah permits people to concealed carry firearms, there are reciprocity issues. Reciprocity is when one state acknowledges and honors another state’s concealed carry permits.
Although you do not need a concealed carry permit in Utah, you may need one to concealed carry in another state. Although Utah does not require concealed carry permits, the system for granting such permits is still in place so people traveling from Utah to another state do not run into trouble.
Penalties for Concealed Carrying Illegally in Utah
If you are restricted from owning or carrying a firearm, you may face criminal penalties for concealed carrying in Utah. Your penalties may depend on the nature of your restrictions. According to Utah Code §76-10-503, a person may be a Category I or Category II restricted person. Our Utah weapons crimes defense lawyers can help you figure out if you are a restricted person and help you fight any charges you may face.
Category I restricted persons often have serious felony convictions on their records. Being previously convicted of a violent felony as well as certain drug offenses involving Schedule I or II controlled substances may make you a Category I restricted person.
A Category II restricted person is typically someone with a less severe criminal record. For example, felony convictions for non-violent offenses or drug offenses that involve less severe controlled substances may make you a Category II restricted person.
If you are a Category I restricted person and carry a concealed firearm, you may be charged with a second-degree felony. Such a felony may be punished by at least 1 year in state prison and no more than 15 years. A Category II restricted person may be charged with a third-degree felony for carrying a concealed firearm in Utah. Such a conviction may be penalized by a state prison term of no more than 5 years.
Call Our Utah Weapons Crimes Lawyers for Help
If you want to carry a concealed firearm in Utah but are unsure of the legal procedures involved, call our Logan criminal defense attorneys. We can help you figure out your permit situation or help you fight weapons-related criminal charges. Call Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 758-2287 for a free case review.