What Are the Penalties for Multiple Speeding Tickets in Utah?
Utah is a lenient state when it comes to penalties for multiple speeding tickets. Utah operates on a point system that issues drivers points for traffic violations. However, while Utah might be lenient with speeding tickets, you could still face penalties like license suspension for excessive speeding tickets. If you or a family member has multiple speeding tickets in Utah, you should consult with an experienced Salt Lake City traffic ticket lawyer today. Park City Criminal defense lawyer Darwin Overson has handled several traffic-related criminal proceedings for clients across Salt Lake City and Utah. Darwin knows the hardships traffic penalties can have on your life and is prepared to fight for you. Overson Law is here to explain the penalties for multiple speeding tickets in Utah.
Utah Speeding Ticket Laws
Utah enforces “safe and appropriate speeds,” depending on which area of the state you are driving through. Title 41 of Utah’s Motor Vehicles Traffic Code §41-6a-601 discusses recommended safety measures for drivers in various situations and regulates the speed limit across the state. Utah’s Traffic Code specifically states that drivers should avoid speeding and act “reasonably and prudently” in the following situations:
- When driving towards and across an intersection or railroad tracks,
- When driving around sharp twists and turns,
- Driving to the top of a hill you cannot see over,
- When driving in poor weather conditions, and
- When driving around several pedestrians.
This law also lists the speed limits for drivers in the following areas:
- Reduced speed school zones – 20 miles per hour
- Urban districts – 25 miles per hour
- Every other location – 55 miles per hour
Speed limits may be different across different counties and municipalities in Utah. This is because each county and municipality has the power to determine what is a “reasonable and safe” speed limit for the roads in their jurisdiction.
Can Your License Be Suspended for Speeding?
Utah has a point system for moving violations. Once you pay your ticket or are convicted of a traffic violation, points will be added to your driving record. The points placed on a driver’s record vary depending on the points that are already on the record. Specifically, drivers with points already on their record could receive 10% more points for a new violation.
There are two types of point systems that are used: a “provisional point system” and a “regular point system.” The provisional point system applies to drivers under the age of 21. If you are under 21 and receive 70 or more points in 3 years, you may face a driver’s license suspended from one month to a year.
Alternatively, the regular point system applies to drivers over the age of 21. If you are over 21 and accrue 200 or more demerit points within three years, your license will be suspended from three months up to a year. The length of your license suspension depends on your driving record.
A moving violation for speeding changes depending on how fast you were going. The following list identifies the penalty points for speeding in varying circumstances:
- 1-10 mph over the speed limit = 35 demerit points
- 11-20 mph over the speed limit = 55 demerit points
- 21 mph over the speed limit = 75 demerit points
Violating Utah’s speeding laws is an infraction. In Utah, there is no jail time for infractions, only fines. The penalties for multiple speeding tickets in Utah is a gradual increase of points on your driving record until your license is suspended. However, speeding violations in a reduced speed school zone can result in misdemeanor charges. Misdemeanors carry penalties like jail time for up to one year and high criminal fines. For example, a class B misdemeanor carries a possible 6-month jail term and up to $1,000 in fines.
Before you can be convicted of a speeding violation, you must be issued a traffic ticket. Traffic tickets, also known as citations, state information about your offense including where you can go to challenge the citation.
If you wish to dispute your citation, you can plead not guilty to the speeding violation and present your case to the court. At this trial, you may call witnesses and present evidence to prove your innocence. You should be aware that the officer who cited you will likely testify against you. Additionally, the prosecution can also call witnesses to contradict your case. You should consider bringing an experienced Layton criminal defense attorney to your case to represent you.
Our Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help You Fight Your Speeding Violations
If you or a family member has multiple speeding tickets, you should contact an experienced Salt Lake City criminal defense lawyer. Darwin Overson is a dedicated attorney that will provide you with aggressive legal representation. The legal professionals at Overson Law, PLLC can fight your speeding case and help you restore your driver’s license. To schedule a free consultation, call us at (801) 758-2287.