Causes of License Suspension in Utah
In the State of Utah, your driver’s license can be suspended by committing a variety of driving and non-driving offenses. The suspension period will vary depending upon the type of offense that is committed. Individuals who continue to commit offenses that result in a license suspension will receive increasing penalties. If you or a family member’s license has been suspended and you need assistance to have it restored, you should speak with an experienced criminal lawyer. Salt Lake City license suspension lawyer Darwin Overson of Overson Law explains the various reasons for a driver’s licenses suspension and how to reinstate your license.
Types of Driver’s Licenses Suspensions in Utah
Driver’s license suspensions in Utah usually happen because an individual disobeyed the rules of the road. Once your Utah driver’s license has been suspended, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Utah. However, violating traffic laws is not the only way to get your driver’s license suspended. There are other violations that can leave you without a license, such as:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI)
- Refusing to submit to a chemical test
- Driving without car insurance
- Failing to appear in court and pay a traffic ticket
- Failing to pay child support
- Driving with a suspended license
- Committing a texting violation or an alcohol-restricted driver violation
- Vehicular homicide
Drivers in Utah are subject to a demerit point system. Utah’s point system issues points to drivers according to the type of offenses they commit on the roadways. Accumulating too many points will result in a suspended license. The following offenses will give a driver demerit points on their license:
- Reckless driving – 80 points
- Failing to yield right-of-way – 60 points
- Driving against traffic – 60 points
- Improper passing – 50 points
- Running a stop sign or red light – 50 points
- Speeding – 35 to 70 points depending on the speed
- Other moving violations – 40 points
Drivers ages 21 and over who accrue 200 or more demerit points within three years will be required to appear at a court hearing. A court hearing regarding demerit points often ends with a driver being placed on a probationary period or a driver having their driving privileges suspended. A suspension period for an adult driver could range between three months and one year, depending on their driving record.
Alternatively, drivers ages 20 and younger must appear at a court hearing if they accrue 70 demerit points or more within three years. Drivers who hit the 70-point limit will have their license suspended for 30 days up to one year.
How to Reinstate a Utah Driver’s License
A Utah driver must complete the reinstatement process before they can legally operate a motor vehicle on any public roads within the state. The reinstatement processes each driver must complete will differ depending upon the offense they committed.
The Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sets the requirements for drivers who wish to reinstate their license. These requirements can include:
- Completing a defensive driving course
- Providing proof of car insurance
- Retaking DMV driving exams
A driver with a suspended license must pay reinstatement fees to Utah’s Driver License Division. A fee of $35 is charged for any type of offense that is not DUI-related. The reinstatement fee for a DUI-related offense is $65. Motorists who commit a DUI-related offense may also be required to pay an administrative fee to restore their driver’s license. The administrative fee for a DUI-related offense is $230; this fee must be paid in addition to the reinstatement fee.
Applying for a Hardship Driver’s License
If your driver’s license has been suspended in Utah, you may be able to apply for a hardship driver’s license during your suspension period. A hardship driver’s license, also known as a restricted license, allows motorists to drive to work or school despite having a suspended license. To be eligible for a hardship license, drivers must satisfy requirements set by Utah’s DMV. Utah’s DMV requires drivers to submit a letter from the judge that most recently convicted them and a written verification form from a doctor proving their ineligibility to drive. Motorists must also pay applicable reinstatement fees and license fees to receive their hardship license.
Our Salt Lake City, UT Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help Get Your License Reinstated
If you or a family member needs to have their license reinstated, you should consult with an experienced defense attorney. Salt Lake City criminal defense attorney Darwin Overson can help you reinstate your suspended license. Utah’s DMV can have confusing policies concerning suspended driver’s licenses, and we are here to aid you in deciphering them. Overson Law has extensive experience dealing with various aspects of criminal law, and we will put that experience to work for you. To schedule a free consultation, call us at (801) 758-2287, or contact us online.