How Much is Bail for a Class C Offense in Utah?
If you find yourself imprisoned for a Class C offense in Utah, you may be worried about how much it will cost you to post bail so you can be released. In Utah, the amount of bail required to be released from custody for a Class C offense is set according to a uniform bail schedule, although it is possible for judges to deviate from it. If you have any questions about the amount of bail you will need to pay to get released from custody for a Class C misdemeanor in Utah, continue reading to hear from the Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys from Overson Law, PLLC.
Bail for Class C Offenses in Utah
In Utah, Class C offenses are a category of misdemeanor that carry specific bail prices and penalties. The following is information that defendants can use to understand the amount of bail they might have to pay for their Class C misdemeanors in Utah and possible penalties they can expect to face.
Bail You’ll Pay for a Class C Misdemeanor
According to the Utah Uniform Bail Schedule, bail for Class C misdemeanors is $340. Class C misdemeanors also require mandatory court appearances unless otherwise authorized by the Utah Code of Judicial Administration. Class C misdemeanors are the least severe of the three categories of misdemeanor charges. Class B is slightly more severe and has a bail of $680 while Class A misdemeanors are the most severe with a bail of $1,950. Felonies are, of course, more severe than misdemeanors, and have bail set between $5,000 and $25,000.
Class C Offenses in Utah
Common Class C offenses in Utah include drinking in public, careless driving, and driving on a suspended license.
Penalties for Class C Offenses in Utah
Class C misdemeanor convictions can result in fines up to $750 and up to 90 days in jail.
How Judges Set Bail for a Class C Offense in Utah
While the Utah Uniform Bail Schedule is a major determining factor in how judges decide whether to grant a defendant bail and how much to set it for, it is not the only factor that judges take into account. Judges also take a defendant’s criminal history into account when deciding whether to grant them bail. Defendants that do not have a criminal history will have bail set at a much lower amount than defendants that have a history of criminal charges and other violations.
When examining a defendant’s criminal history to set bail, judges take the following factors into account: the nature of the crime the defendant is being charged with, the severity of the crime the defendant is being charged with, whether the defendant has had a restraining order filed against them, whether they have violated parole or violated probation, whether they have committed their crime while on bail for a separate offense, the defendant’s connection to their community (family and employment are strong indicators of community connection), whether the defendant has a history of substance abuse, whether the defendant has prior offenses, and the defendant’s reputation within their community.
Why You Might Be Denied Bail In Utah
The bail hearing is one of the first steps in the criminal process. It takes place after the defendant has been arrested but before the preliminary hearing happens. The purpose of a bail hearing is to give the judge an opportunity to decide whether the defendant should be granted bail and if so, how much their bail should be set for and what the terms should be. During a bail hearing, there are three possible outcomes for a defendant: either the judge will grant bail to the defendant (this is the most likely outcome), the judge will deny bail, or the judge will grant the defendant “release on own recognizance,” also known as ROR. Release on own recognizance is a special type of bail that a judge grants when a defendant’s crime is not violent, they have established ties to their community, and they don’t seem to be a flight risk.
In most cases, the defendant will be granted bail at a cost similar to what is listed in the Uniform Bail Schedule. Usually, bail is only denied if the defendant has been charged with aggravated murder or another felony that is aggravated by other factors such as being a flight risk.
Note that even if a defendant is granted bail, it doesn’t mean that they’ll always be able to pay it. Paying bail that is set at thousands or even hundreds of thousands of dollars isn’t feasible for everyone. If you can’t afford to pay bail, it might be in your best interest to use a bail bond. You can speak with a lawyer for a referral for a bail bondsman. When using a bail bond, the defendant will pay a percentage of their bail and the bail bondsman will pay the rest.
If a defendant is released on bail (either by paying for bail themselves or using a bail bond), they can face severe penalties if they fail to appear in court on their scheduled court date. Failing to appear in court after being released on bond can result in bail-jumping charges, which carries penalties of 5 years in prison and fines up to $5,000.
Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorneys for Bail Hearings in Utah
If you’re facing a Class C misdemeanor in Utah, get in touch with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can help you craft a defense so you can reduce the overall amount of penalties you’ll face and maybe even get your charges dropped altogether. The Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys from Overson Law, PLLC are available to help people throughout the Salt Lake City area with their Class C misdemeanor charges. Call them today at (801) 758-2287.