West Valley City Sex Crimes Attorney

Salt Lake criminal defense lawyer

Being charged with any crime is a stressful and scary experience, but sex crimes carry an extra social stigma that often leaves defendants feeling hopeless, isolated, and overwhelmed.  It may feel as if the world has turned against you, but you don’t have to face the charges alone.  At Overson Law, LLC we believe that every West Valley City resident has a right to compassionate, respectful legal representation, no matter the nature of the allegations.

Our attorneys have handled thousands of cases, and have years of experience fighting even the most serious and complex charges.  We work closely with our clients to dig through the evidence and create aggressive defense strategies tailored to each case.  We will always keep your sensitive information confidential, and offer free initial consultations for new clients.

To start exploring some of your options in a private case evaluation, call sex crimes attorney Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287.

Types of Sex Crimes Our West Valley Lawyers Handle

The Utah Criminal Code recognizes more than a dozen different sex offenses.  Some are classified as “offenses against the person,” while others are considered to be “offenses against public order and decency.”  Offenses against public order, such as lewdness, tend to be misdemeanors.  Offenses against the person, such as rape, are generally felonies.

We defend West Valley City residents against allegations involving:

  • Aggravated Sexual Assault — First Degree Felony
  • Forcible Sexual Abuse — Second Degree Felony, First Degree Felony
  • Lewdness — Class B Misdemeanor, Third Degree Felony
  • Rape — First Degree Felony
  • Sexual Abuse of a Child — Second Degree Felony, First Degree Felony
  • Sexual Abuse of a Minor — Class A Misdemeanor, Third Degree Felony
  • Sexual Battery — Class A Misdemeanor
  • Voyeurism — Class B Misdemeanor, Class A Misdemeanor, Third Degree Felony, Second Degree Felony

We also handle charges involving internet crimes, incest, and prostitution.

Utah Penalties: Fines and Sentences

Utah imposes the following maximum penalties for criminal convictions by tier:

  • Class B Misdemeanor
    • Sentence — 6 months, jail
    • Fine –$1,000
  • Class A Misdemeanor
    • Sentence — 1 year, jail
    • Fine — $2,500
  • Third Degree Felony
    • Sentence — 5 years, prison
    • Fine — $5,000
  • Second Degree Felony
    • Sentence — 15 years, prison
    • Fine — $10,000
  • First Degree Felony
    • Sentence — Life, prison
    • Fine — $10,000

While the fines and sentences are the first penalties most people worry about, the informal “penalties” can continue to wreak havoc on your life long after you’re released from incarceration. With a criminal record in your history, particularly one which contains a felony or violent crime, you may find it extremely difficult to apply for jobs, earn professional licenses and certifications, and qualify for loans.  You will also lose your gun rights and your right to vote.

In addition to all of these penalties and negative consequences, sex crimes convictions come with a final stigma that can be the most damaging of all: having to join the Sex Offender Registry.

Crimes on the Utah Sex Offender Registry

Utah recognizes numerous “registrable offenses,” or offenses which require convicted persons to join the Utah Sex Offender Registry.

Offenses which require a 10-year period of registration include (but are not limited to):

  • Aggravated Human Trafficking
  • Forcible Sexual Abuse
  • Incest
  • Kidnapping
  • Lewdness Involving a Child
  • Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor
  • Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16- or 17-year-old
  • Voyeurism

You must also register for 10 years if you have four convictions of lewdness (not involving a child) or sexual battery.

Offenses which require registration for life include (but are not limited to):

  • Aggravated Kidnapping
  • Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child
  • Aggravated Sexual Assault
  • Enticing a Minor Over the Internet
  • Object Rape
  • Object Rape of a Child
  • Rape
  • Rape of a Child
  • Sexual Abuse of a Child

Once you’re on the Sex Offender Registry, anyone with an internet connection — including bosses, coworkers, friends, family, significant others, and neighbors — will be able to look up your personal information.  That includes your name, age, address, what you were convicted of, the date you were convicted, your license plate number, your physical description, where you go to school, and your photo.

As a registrant, you’ll also have to follow certain rules that can make daily life nearly impossible.  For example, you’ll be facing tight restrictions on where you can live, the sorts of places you can visit, who you can contact, the kinds of materials you can possess, and more.

The sooner you take action, the better prepared you will be for your court date.  To set up your free and confidential legal consultation, call West Valley City sex crimes lawyer Darwin Overson at (801) 758-2287 today.