Crimes That Require Utah Sex Offender Registration
Utah sex offender registration is required for offenders who commit one or more registrable offenses. The sex offender registry is used to monitor sex offenders and to inform the public of the presence of sex offenders in their neighborhood. If you commit a crime in another state that would qualify for the registry in Utah, it is also your responsibility to register under Utah law. If you committed a registrable sex offense, you should consult with an experienced Salt Lake City sex crimes defense lawyer today. Overson Law is here to discuss which crimes require Utah sex offender registration. Darwin Overson has over 16 years of criminal law experience that he will utilize to help you with any issues regarding your sex offender registration. If you need help with your case, call us today for a free consultation.
Registrable Sex Offenses
Utah has a large list of sex offenses that require as an offender to register if they are convicted. An offender can be convicted for committing, attempting to commit, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any of the following offenses, each of which requires you to register as a sex offender.
Child kidnapping occurs when an offender intentionally and illegally confines or transports a child under the age of 14 without the consent of the child’s parent or guardian. In Utah, child kidnapping is a first degree felony. If you are convicted of a first degree felony, you can spend a minimum of 5 years in prison and even be sentenced to life. A life sentence for this offense is typically given to individuals who previously committed a sexual offense or who physically harmed someone during the commission of the crime.
Rape is committed when an offender has sexual intercourse with a person without that person’s consent. This law still applies whether the victim was married to the offender, which is not the case in every state. Rape and rape of a child are both first degree felonies. You can be charged with rape of a child if you have sexual intercourse with a minor that is under the age of 14, regardless of consent.
Object rape occurs when an offender uses a foreign object to penetrate the genital or anal area of a person without their consent. The offender must commit this act with the intention of causing the victim emotional distress or the intention of sexually arousing themselves or anyone else. An offender commits object rape of a child if they commit this crime against someone under the age of 14. Both of these offenses are first degree felonies.
Sodomy on a Child
An offender is guilty of sodomy on a child if they commit a sexual act involving a child that is under the age of 14. The sexual act must involve the genitals and anus of the offender or the child. This offense is a first degree felony.
Aggravated Sexual Assault
Aggravated sexual assault occurs if the actor uses a dangerous weapon or threatens to use a weapon against the victim in the midst of rape, sodomy, or another sexual offense. You can also be arrested for this offense if you harm or threaten to harm a person while attempting to commit a sexual offense. Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree felony.
Enticing of a Minor
Enticing of a minor is committed if a person uses electronic or written communications like texting, emails, or letters to seduce or solicit the minor to engage in some form of sexual activity. Under this law, Utah defines a minor as a person that is under the age of 18. It is not a defense to claim that you believed the minor was of legal age. This offense is a second degree felony for first convictions. Second degree felonies carry a possible prison term of up to 15 years and $10,000 in criminal fines. Second time offenders will likely be charged with a first degree felony.
Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution
An individual can be charged with aggravated exploitation of prostitution if they persuade a person to become a prostitute by way of threats or force. This law also applies to acts used to promote prostitution or arrange transportation for the purposes of prostitution. Aggravated exploitation of prostitution is a second degree felony. If the offense involves the use of a minor, then the offense will be upgraded to a first degree felony.
This is not an exhaustive list. There are other offenses that will also require an offender to register their sex offender status, and you should speak to an attorney about the potential registration requirements for any offense you commit.
Contact an Experienced Utah Criminal Defense Attorney to Handle Your Sexual Offense Case
If you were arrested for committing a sexual offense, you should contact an experienced Salt Lake City criminal defense lawyer today. Darwin Overson will provide you with the aggressive legal representation necessary to fight your case. To schedule a free legal consultation, call Overson Law at (801) 758-2287.