Salt Lake City Defense Attorney for Non-Violent Crimes

Salt Lake criminal defense lawyer

While non-violent crimes are typically offenses that carry severe penalties, being arrested for a non-violent offense is still an issue that you should take seriously. It is important to understand the possible penalties and fines for being convicted of a non-violent offense in Utah. If you or a family member was arrested for a non-violent crime, you should contact an experienced Salt Lake City defense attorney today.

At Overson & Bugden, our firm is dedicated to providing you with the legal representation that you deserve to defend the criminal offenses charged against you. Navigating the criminal justice system in Utah can be daunting, but we are here for you in your time of need. To schedule a free legal consultation, contact (801) 758-2287, or contact us online.

Common Non-Violent Offenses in Utah

A non-violent offense is a crime that does not involve the use of force or intimidation to complete the crime. For example, robbery is a violent offense because it requires a person to forcefully take the property of another person. Alternatively, theft is a non-violent crime as it does not require a person to take property from or in the presence of another person.

The following is a list of common non-violent offenses that Overson Law can help you with if you are arrested.

Driving Under the Influence

Driving under the influence (DUI) happens when a person elects to drive a vehicle after consuming alcohol or a drug. In Utah, a driver must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) below 0.08 in order to be considered sober while driving. If a driver has a BAC above this level, they can be arrested for driving under the influence.

Additionally, if the driver of a vehicle takes a drug like marijuana or methamphetamine, they could be charged with a DUI. It is important to note that the drug taken does not have to be a controlled substance but must be enough to impair a person’s ability to drive safely. However, law enforcement is still determining ways to accurately test whether a person is intoxicated due to drugs.

The penalties for DUI can vary depending on the circumstances of your case. For example, if you were previously convicted of driving drunk, a subsequent conviction would have even more penalties. A conviction for a first-time DUI carries penalties of up to 48 hours in prison, a $1400 fine, and the suspension of a driver’s license for 120 days. The most serious DUI offenses can land a defendant in prison for up to five years.

Drug Possession

Drug possession is another type of non-violent crime that a defendant could be charged with. The possession of drugs can be placed into several categories. For example, if an individual possesses drugs because they are saving the drug for personal use, this is considered simple possession. Alternatively, if a defendant possesses drugs with intent to distribute (PWID), this can trigger another set of penalties if the defendant is convicted. PWID is when a possession has a large number of drugs that they intend to traffic, transport, or manufacture.

The penalties for drug possession typically depend on the type and amount of drugs found in a defendant’s possession. For example, being convicted of having less than an ounce of marijuana can result in a sentence of six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. However, if a defendant is found with at least 100 pounds of marijuana, they face the possibility of 15 years in prison if they are convicted.


A burglary occurs when a defendant enters a building with the intention of committing a crime once inside. For example, if a defendant enters a property to steal valuable jewelry from the owner, this is considered burglary. It is important to note that burglary can turn into a violent offense depending on what crime the defendant commits after illegally entering a property.

The penalties for burglary can be enhanced depending on the circumstances of each case. For example, the burglary of a public building can result in a five-year sentence if the defendant is convicted. However, if the defendant engaged in the burglary of a person’s home, they can face up to 15 years in prison upon conviction. Additionally, an aggravated burglary conviction is punishable by life in prison.

Contact an Experienced Salt Lake City Non-Violent Crimes Defense Lawyer to Discuss Your Case

If you or a family member was arrested for a non-violent offense, you should consult with an experienced Salt Lake City criminal defense lawyer. With a wealth of experience in a broad range of criminal law topics, criminal defense lawyer Darwin Overson is ready to help you fight your case. To schedule a free case evaluation to discuss your situation, contact Overson & Bugden at (801) 758-2287.