Salt Lake City Attorney for Out-of-State Offenders + Criminal Charges

Salt Lake criminal defense lawyer

Getting arrested in your home state is an extremely stressful experience. It is even more traumatic and confusing to be arrested when you are visiting another state, especially if you do not have nearby friends or family who can come to your aid. If you are from another state but have been arrested in Utah, it is in your best interests to contact a Salt Lake City defense lawyer immediately. You need an attorney who is familiar with and can guide you through Utah’s justice system and extradition process, fighting for your release from custody and working to ensure that your rights are not violated by investigators, corrections officers, or police officers.

With a strong record of acquittals, case dismissals, and other favorable outcomes spanning more than 16 years in Utah’s district and justice courts, Darwin Overson has established himself as an aggressive and effective legal advocate. If you are represented by Overson & Bugden, Darwin will work diligently to reduce the penalties you face. It may even be possible to have the charges against you dropped or dismissed. For a free legal consultation concerning out-of-state criminal charges in Utah, contact Overson Law online, or call our law offices at (801) 758-2287. We are available 24 hours to assist you.

Felonies vs. Misdemeanors in Utah

In Utah, a criminal offense is either a misdemeanor or a felony. There are three types of misdemeanors (Class A misdemeanors, Class B misdemeanors, and Class C misdemeanors), and three types of felonies (first degree felonies, second degree felonies, and third degree felonies).

These classifications are important because they impact the maximum sentences and criminal fines that can be imposed. If you have been charged with a crime in Utah, you should understand how serious the accusations are and what sorts of penalties you may be facing.

Misdemeanors in Utah

Misdemeanor offenses in Utah include the following:

  • Carrying a loaded firearm in your vehicle or on the street
  • Criminal trespass
  • Harassment
  • Negligent homicide
  • Possession of a deadly weapon with criminal intent
  • Reckless endangerment
  • Sexual battery
  • Simple assault
  • Simple possession of marijuana
  • Theft under $1,500

What is Considered a Felony in Utah?

Examples of crimes that are considered felonies in Utah include:

  • Aggravated assault
  • Aggravated kidnapping
  • Aggravated murder
  • Aggravated sexual assault
  • Burglary
  • Child kidnapping
  • Drug trafficking
  • Kidnapping
  • Manslaughter
  • Murder
  • Rape
  • Robbery
  • Theft of or over $1,500

Bail, Warrants, and Extradition in Out-of-State Criminal Cases

Depending on whether you have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony, you may be permitted to avoid personally appearing in court. Instead, a criminal lawyer in Salt Lake City, like Darwin Overson, may be able handle your case locally, coordinating with you long-distance to keep you involved and up to date. If the charge is a felony, you may be required to appear in person for court hearings. If you are convicted and sentenced, you will be required to serve your sentence in Utah.

Depending on the nature of the offense you have been charged with, you may be permitted to post bail. Though the cost can be high, an attorney can work toward a bail reduction. Depending on whether a warrant has been issued for your arrest, you may be extradited (transferred out of the state) to or from Utah to face charges in the state where the crime was allegedly committed.

What Happens if You Are Convicted of a Crime in Utah?

Jail Sentences for Misdemeanors

Utah misdemeanor jail sentences are as follows:

  • Class A Misdemeanors – Maximum of 364 days in jail, or just under one year
  • Class B Misdemeanors – Maximum of six months in jail
  • Class C Misdemeanors – Maximum of 90 days in jail

Prison Sentencing for Felonies

Felony prison sentences in Utah are as follows:

  • First Degree Felonies – Possible life sentence
  • Second Degree Felonies – Up to 15 years in prison
  • Third Degree Felonies – Up to five years in prison

Judges may not exceed these maximums, but may use their discretion when sentencing offenders, taking into account factors such as criminal history, the use of dangerous weapons, the presence of children during the crime, and other mitigating or aggravating factors.

Criminal Fines for Misdemeanors and Felonies

In addition to sentencing a defendant to jail or prison time, the court can also order the defendant to pay expensive fines. These fines are as follows:

  • Class C Misdemeanors – Maximum fine of $750 (or equivalent compensatory service)
  • Class B Misdemeanors – Maximum fine of $1,000 (or equivalent compensatory service)
  • Class A Misdemeanors – Maximum fine of $2,500
  • Third Degree Felonies – Maximum fine of $5,000
  • Second Degree Felonies – Maximum fine of $10,000
  • First Degree Felonies – Maximum fine of $10,000

Criminal Defense Lawyer for Out-of-State Criminal Charges

When you are in an unfamiliar state facing a justice system that may be completely alien to you, you need a supportive and trustworthy attorney who will stand by your side, uphold your rights, and guide you through each stage of your case. Whether he is fighting to reduce your bail amount, to have you charged with a lesser offense, to lower the penalties you are facing, to suppress tainted evidence against you, to locate witnesses who can support your case, or to prevent interstate extradition, Darwin never stops working to make your defense stronger.

Based in Salt Lake City, Overson Law handles criminal cases statewide. For a free legal consultation about an out-of-state criminal charge in Utah, contact us online, or call (801) 758-2287 today.