How Much is Bail for a Class B Offense in Utah?
One of the first thoughts you might have when you are arrested for a Class B misdemeanor in Utah is: how much is bail going to cost me? The amount of bail that will be set for your Class B offenses will be determined by a uniform bail schedule, although a judge can deviate from it if there are special circumstances. To learn more about the amount of bail you can expect for a Class B misdemeanor in Utah, continue reading as the Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys from Overson Law, PLLC explain.
Bail for Class B Offenses in Utah
Class B offenses are a category of misdemeanor in Utah. The following is information about the bail for Class B offenses according to the Utah Uniform Bail Schedule, offenses that are considered to be Class B misdemeanors, and penalties for Class B offenses.
Bail You’ll Pay for a Class B Misdemeanor
The Utah Uniform Bail Schedule states that bail for Class B misdemeanors is $680, along with a mandatory court appearance (unless the Utah Code of Judicial Administration authorizes otherwise). Class B misdemeanors are less severe than Class A misdemeanors, which have bail set at $1,950, and more severe than Class C, which have bail set at $340. All of these misdemeanor charges are, of course, less severe than felonies, which can have bail set between $5,000 and $25,000.
Class B Offenses in Utah
Common types of Class B misdemeanors in Utah include prostitution, gambling, and knowingly furnishing alcohol to a minor.
Penalties for Class B Offenses in Utah
Penalties for class B misdemeanors in Utah include up to six months in jail and fines of up to $1,000.
How Judges Set Bail in Utah
While the Utah Uniform Bail Schedule plays a major part in how judges decide to set bail for defendants, it is not the only factor that determines whether someone will be granted bail and how much their bail will be set for.
The Factors that Contribute to Bail in Utah
A defendant’s criminal history and current involvement in their community will play a major role in whether a judge grants a defendant bail and for how much they set it. Defendants with minimal charges or no charges at all in their criminal backgrounds can expect much smaller bail amounts than defendants that have a criminal history full of charges and violations.
The following are factors that judges consider when setting bail for a defendant: the severity and nature of the crime that the defendant is being charged with, any restraining orders that have been filed against the defendant, whether the defendant has committed any violation of probation or violation of parole, whether they committed the offense they’ve been charged while released on bail for a separate crime, their connection to their community as indicated by familial ties and employment, the defendant’s history with substance abuse, and the defendant’s reputation in their community.
Why You Might Be Denied Bail In Utah
After a defendant has been arrested but before they go to a preliminary hearing, they will go to a bail hearing. During this bail hearing, a judge will have a chance to decide whether they should grant a defendant bail, how much to set bail for, and other terms of bail. There are three possible outcomes for a defendant during a bail hearing: they will be granted bail (this is the most common outcome), they will be denied bail, or they will be granted “release on own recognizance” (also known as ROR). ROR bail is a special type of bail that is granted when a defendant has not committed a violent crime, maintains strong ties to their community, and is not a flight risk.
Judges usually set bail similar to what is listed in the Utah Uniform Bail Schedule. Bail is usually only denied to defendants if they have been charged with aggravated murder or have committed a felony and are a flight risk.
Using a Bail Bondsman
Many defendants are not able to afford bail. For serious felonies, bail can be as much as a few hundred thousand dollars, which is not feasible for many people. Defendants that can’t afford their bail can use the services of a bail bondsman. If this seems to be the right option for you, get in touch with a lawyer for a referral for a bail bondsman. If you decide to use a bail bond, you will have to pay a percentage of the bail or offer some sort of collateral and the bail bondsman will pay the rest of the bail for you.
Bail-jumping Charges in Utah
Defendants that are released on bail (by either paying it themselves or using a bail bond service) will face severe penalties if they don’t appear in court on the court date that has been scheduled for them. Failure to appear in court after being released on bail is known as bail-jumping in Utah. Penalties for bail-jumping include 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Criminal Defense Attorneys for Bail Hearings in Utah
Get in touch with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible if you’re facing charges for a Class B misdemeanor in Utah. With the help of a skilled attorney, you might be able to reduce your penalties or get your charges dropped. The Salt Lake City criminal defense attorneys from Overson Law, PLLC are eager to help you with your case. Contact them today to schedule an appointment for a free consultation by calling (801) 758-2287.